Faculty Research Interests

Filter by Research Topic

Linda Ambrosio Biological function of Raf lima@iastate.edu
3264 Molecular Bio
515-294-9549
Amy Andreotti Nuclear magnetic resonance; Macromolecular structure and recognition amyand@iastate.edu
4208 Molecular Bio
515-294-4953
Adam Barb Glycoprotein structure and immune activation; Nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy abarb@iastate.edu
4210 Molecular Bio
515-294-8928
Don Beitz Lipid metabolism; Nutritional and genetic control quality of animal-derived foods; Etiology and prevention of fatty liver disease dcbeitz@iastate.edu
313 Kildee
515-294-5626
Tom Bobik Bacterial Microcompartments bobik@iastate.edu
2152 Molecular Bio
515-294-8247
Baoyu (Stone) Chen Signaling through the actin cytoskeleton stone@iastate.edu
3110 Molecular Bio
515-294-9891
Michael Cho Development of a vaccine against HIV-1, the virus that causes AIDS mcho@iastate.edu
2022 Vet Med
515-294-6449
Alan DiSpirito Bioenergetics of chemoautotrophic and methanotrophic bacteria aland@iastate.edu
4114 Molecular Bio
515-294-2944
Jack Girton Developmental and molecular genetics of Drosophila pattern formation; Genetic regulation of cell determination bpatch@iastate.edu
3152 Molecular Bio
515-294-0342
Mark Hargrove Protein structure and function; Heme proteins; X-ray crystallography msh@iastate.edu
4114 Molecular Bio
515-294-2616
Richard Honzatko Structure determination of macromolecules of biological interest; Crystallization of proteins and x-ray crystallography; Energy-conformation analysis of protein ligand interactions honzatko@iastate.edu
4206 Molecular Bio
515-294-7103
Robert Jernigan Molecular models; Nucleic acids; Small molecules; Structures of proteins jernigan@iastate.edu
303 Kildee
515-294-3833
Jorgen Johansen Regulation of nuclear organization and function jorgen@iastate.edu
3156 Molecular Bio
515-294-2358
Kristen Johansen Regulation of nuclear organization and function kristen@iastate.edu
1210 Molecular Bio
515-294-0528
Gustavo MacIntosh Gene expression and metabolic changes during plant defense responses to pests; Functional genomics of plant nucleases gustavo@iastate.edu
4108 Molecular Bio
515-294-2627
W. Allen Miller Molecular biology of plant viruses; Novel mechanisms of translation and replication of viral RNA; Virus-aphid vector interaction wamiller@iastate.edu
413 Bessey
515-294-2436
Walter Moss Noncoding RNA discovery; RNA structure and function wmoss@iastate.edu
3256 Molecular Bio
515-294-6214
Alan Myers Molecular mechanisms of starch assembly and disassembly; Plant functional genomics ammyers@iastate.edu
2110 Molecular Bio
515-294-9548
Scott Nelson Molecular mechanisms of DNA replication and repair swn@iastate.edu
4112 Molecular Bio
515-294-3434
Basil Nikolau Biochemistry and molecular biology of biotin and biotin-containing enzymes; Regulation of plant lipid metabolism dimmas@iastate.edu
3254 Molecular Bio
515-294-9423
Marit Nilsen-Hamilton Nucleic acid, aptamer-based analytical technology; Growth factor function marit@iastate.edu
3206 Molecular Bio
515-294-9996
Reuben Peters Biosynthesis and physiological function of diterpenoid natural products. rjpeters@iastate.edu
4216 Molecular Bio
515-294-8580
Guru Rao Structure-function relationships of plant proteins; Protein-protein interactions in plant signal transduction; Protein engineering gururao@iastate.edu
2610 Beardshear
515-294-6344
Julien Roche Solution NMR of proteins jroche@iastate.edu
3116 Molecular Bio
515-294-6437
Dipali Sashital Structure, function and assembly of RNA-protein complexes sashital@iastate.edu
3252 Molecular Bio
515-294-5121
Yeon-Kyun Shin Structure and function of selected membrane proteins; Mechanisms of secretory vesicle fusion with membranes colishin@iastate.edu
4152 Molecular Bio
515-294-2530
Michael Shogren-Knaak Role and establishment of histone modifications; Chromatin structure knaak@iastate.edu
4214 Molecular Bio
515-294-9015
Ravindra Singh Proteomics; Structural Bioinformatics; Comparative Genomics singhr@iastate.edu
2034 Vet Med
515-294-8505
Louisa Tabatabai Protein chemistry; Proteomics; Structure/function relationships of bacterial proteins lbt@iastate.edu

Robert Thornburg Plant gene expression; Plant/insect interaction; Plant development thorn@iastate.edu
2212 Molecular Bio
515-294-7885
Eric Underbakke Architecture and assembly of scaffolded signaling complexes esu@iastate.edu
4212 Molecular Bio
515-294-5793
Vincenzo Venditti Protein structures, dynamics and regulation; Development of solution NMR methods for structural elucidation of large proteins and protein complexes venditti@iastate.edu
0219 Hach
515-294-1044
Edward Yu Structural and mechanistic aspects of membrane transport; X-ray crystallography of membrane proteins; Biophysics ewyu@iastate.edu

Olga Zabotina Plant Cell Wall Structure; Polysaccharide Biosynthesis, Modification and Degradation; Bioactive Carbohydrates zabotina@iastate.edu
3212 Molecular Bio
515-294-6125